NirvanaNevermindalbumcover

This album cover always reminds me of a Chabad rabbi.

So I thought I’d play with the graphics a bit.  Sorry for the poor image quality, but I guess it’s the message that counts.

Nevermind-Chabad

File under My Chabad Experience:

Once my son was playing with a Chabad rabbi’s child who was about the same age, 9 years-old. At one point, the spelling of the word ‘money” came into their conversation. It was either through discussion or while reviewing the rabbi’s son’s schoolwork. Whichever, the rabbi’s son spelled the word “muny.” From a 5 year-old, this may be understandable. But from a 9 year-old it is unacceptable. I found it especially ironic that the child could not spell “money,” but is being groomed to schnorr for it all his life as a Chabad shliach/rabbi/missionary.

UPDATE:

I think the dollar is very significant in Chabad theology.

rebbe-buck

My snark may not be far from truth.

chabad.org  What Does a Dollar From the Rebbe Represent?

Dear Rabbi,

Many, many years ago my parents took my brother and me to see the Rebbe, Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson. He gave each of us a crisp dollar bill. Now that I am older, with a family of my own, I feel that there is spiritual value in the dollar.

What should I do with it?

Answer:

The Rebbe, of righteous memory, stood for hours distributing dollars and blessings to thousands of people every Sunday, and on other occasions. The Rebbe’s intention was that the recipient should give the dollar to charity. In this way, explained the Rebbe, when two meet, it should benefit another.

Usually, instead of giving the actual dollar bill to charity, the recipient would keep it and give away another dollar in its place. I know it was a long time ago, but do you remember if you did that? If you do not remember, I would recommend giving a dollar to charity as soon as possible.

